Workplace safety laws

The Northern Territory, in conjunction with the Commonwealth and other state and territory governments is committed to improving the work health and safety of all Australian workers and enhancing productivity by harmonising work health and safety legislation across Australia.

To assist that goal, Model legislation was developed, and the Commonwealth and the majority of states and territories have now adopted the legislation. Victoria has not adopted the legislation because the model is based on their legislation and they don’t see a need to change.

Implementation in the Northern Territory

In the Northern Territory the Work Health and Safety (National Uniform Legislation) Act 2011 and Work Health and Safety (National Uniform Legislation) Regulations 2011 commenced on 1 January 2012.