Automatic Mutual Recognition of some WorkSafe licences commences

The following NT WorkSafe regulated licences are now covered by the Automatic Mutual Recognition (AMR) scheme in the Northern Territory:

  • Gasfitter licence
  • Shotfirer licence

From July 2022, interstate workers can use their current gasfitter or shotfirer licence in the NT without needing to apply or pay a fee for a second licence.

However, they must notify NT WorkSafe of their intent to do so by completing and submitting this form. Making this notification is required by the Commonwealth legislation.

Only applicants who submitted the required notification will receive recognition from NT WorkSafe which allows them to commence work in the NT in accordance with their home state registration or licence conditions, and NT legislative requirements.

The AMR scheme came into effect on 1 July 2021. It covers various occupational licences in all states and territories except Queensland.

Further information on the AMR of WorkSafe licences or accreditation can be found here.

NT WorkSafe
1800 019 115